Breaking the Barrier

Lately, I have been caught up with researching how to break the barrier to the fashion industry. Being one of my goals to work in the fashion industry I want to gain the knowledge that would put me ahead. I am only twenty years old but I am working towards my goals. The best time to try out your dreams are in your twenties. Or so I have been told. 

Sometimes when I think about breaking the barrier I think of Lauren Conrad, The Devil Wears Prada, Sex and City, and The Carrie Diaries!!! I know majority of these are fiction and Lauren Conrad’s story is a case of right place, right time but I still fantasize. 

In my research I gathered tips, books, and different careers information.

Here are some books that are on my Wishlist: 

  1. The Little Black Book of Style By Nina Gracia 
  2. The One-Hundred: A Guide To The Pieces Every Stylish Women Must Own By Nina Gracia 
  3. D.V. By Diana Vreeland 
  4. Fashion Today By Colin McDowell 
  5. Stylist: The Interpreters of Fashion By Anna Wintour 

Here are a couple tips: 

  1. Work Hard and Don’t Complain 
  2. Stay Consistent 
  3. Use the Internet Wisely 
  4. Offer Up Ideas at the Right Time
  5. Never Lose Your Excitement
  6. Observe the Rest of the World 
  7. Go at it Alone but at the Right Time 
So far this is all I have gathered along with the possible careers I want to go into. If you work in the industry and would give me some words of wisdom, I would really appreciate it!
 
Love, 
Janae<3  
Leave a Reply

